Infinity chess size and resolution

Here post questions relating to the GUI
Post Reply
Brooknow
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 9:39 am

Infinity chess size and resolution

Post by Brooknow » Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:59 am

Hello, I have downloaded the Infinity chess software with an interest in the engine tournaments there. I find that when I run the infininty chess I only get a tiny screen with no way to change the resolution or size. Alt+play does bring up a full sized chess board with an extremly tiny font and still no way to get a normal resolution to make the software playable.

I have windows 10 64 bit running firefox on hd television and Nvidia 1650 Gpu and i5 8400 cpu with no resolution problems elseware.
Would be grateful for advice, Thanks.

User avatar
KhalidOmar
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Infinity chess size and resolution

Post by KhalidOmar » Wed Nov 27, 2019 4:08 pm

Hello,

I suspect you have changed the default DPI settings of your computer which maybe affecting how Infinitychess is displaying on your computer.

There are few things you can try:
Option 1: Try restoring the default DPI of Windows. To do so, hit the Start button on the taskbar and type DPI. Select the Change the size of text , apps, and other items from the list. In the new window that appears, check under Scale and layout, if the value is above 100% then that could be the problem! Try changing that to 125% or even 100% for best display of InfinityChess
 
Option1.png
Option1.png (10.32 KiB) Viewed 79 times

Option 2: Same as Option 1, but instead of changing the percentage to 100%, click on Advanced scaling options and then enable the option Let Windows try to fix apps so they're not blurry
 
Option2.png
Option2.png (4.5 KiB) Viewed 79 times

Option 3: Navigate to C:\Program Files (x86)\InnovativeSolutions\InfinityChess and find the executable file InfinityChess.exe then right-click and select Properties. Goto the Compatability tab and click on Change high DPI settings. Enable Override high DPI scaling behavior. Change the Scaling performed by to Application, if that does not work try System then System Enhanced
 
Option3.png
Option3.png (9 KiB) Viewed 79 times
 
Hopefully this solves the problem!
For information about Eman engine, check http://eman.zohosites.com

Brooknow
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 9:39 am

Re: Infinity chess size and resolution

Post by Brooknow » Wed Nov 27, 2019 6:02 pm

Thank you for that wealth of information, I shall try all options. Regards

Brooknow
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 9:39 am

Re: Infinity chess size and resolution

Post by Brooknow » Wed Nov 27, 2019 6:50 pm

For the benefit of anyone else with this problem, option 3 above works with system enhanced select. Thanks again

User avatar
KhalidOmar
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Infinity chess size and resolution

Post by KhalidOmar » Thu Nov 28, 2019 6:25 pm

Thanks Brooknow for the udpade.

I'm glad that it worked!
For information about Eman engine, check http://eman.zohosites.com

Ozymandias
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 7:35 pm

Re: Infinity chess size and resolution

Post by Ozymandias » Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:07 pm

KhalidOmar wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 6:25 pm
Thanks Brooknow for the udpade.

I'm glad that it worked!
Worked for me too, I've been suffering behaviour like that since I installed Win 8 on a rMBP (more than 6 years ago).

User avatar
KhalidOmar
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Infinity chess size and resolution

Post by KhalidOmar » Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:19 am

I'm glad I could help :)
For information about Eman engine, check http://eman.zohosites.com

Post Reply